Mayor Stewart Endorsed for Fourth Term

NEW BRITAIN – Mayor Erin Stewart will officially run for a fourth term after she was formally endorsed by the city’s Republican Town Committee Tuesday night.

In a unanimous vote, the committee cheered as Stewart accepted her nomination, stating that she was both honored and humbled to receive the endorsement. Stewart was elected to her first term in 2013, reelected to a second term in 2015, and a third term in 2017. As one of the youngest serving female mayors in the U.S., Stewart said the last six years has been a long road, but the work is not finished.

“We have seen success in light of opposition,” she said. “We have transformed and invigorated the city over the last few years, and we’re going to continue to serve the people.”

Justin Dorsey, chairman of the RTC’s nominating committee, listed some of Stewart’s accomplishments while in office, including the $1 billion fuel cell energy project at the historic Stanley Black & Decker site, bringing in roughly 100 new businesses, and providing over $100 million of funding toward education.

There is more work to be done but she is a visionary, he said. “Mayor Stewart is the leadership we need.”

The RTC also endorsed Cheryl Blogoslawski for tax collector and incumbent Jamie Giantonio for city treasurer.

A firm believer of good customer service, Blogoslawski said she is returning for a seventh term because she hopes to continue to provide better service for the people.

Lauren Gonzales, Matt Malinowski, Sharon Saavedra, incumbent Daniel Salerno, and Peter Scirpo were nominated for the five at large Common Council seats. Endorsements for 10 Common Council seats were unanimously approved for incumbent Wilfredo Pabon and Howard Dyson in Ward 1, incumbent Kristian Rosado and Jerrell Hargraves in Ward 2, Jason Gibson and Joel Moret in Ward 3, incumbent Robert Smedley and Mike Thompson in Ward 4, and Kris Rutkowski and Gary Mala for Ward 5.

Todd Cheney and Alden Russell were endorsed for Board of Assessment Appeals. Sheryl Mala, Tony Kane, and Gayle Connelly were nominated for Board of Education, and endorsements for constables were given to Rodney Baker, Dick Moreno, Sean Steele, and Alan Zaniewski.

Kane, a music teacher with New Britain Public Schools, said his biggest focus is to provide kids a great education through communication and opportunity.

“As a teacher, I’m always communicating with students, parents, and my own kids. That gives me good insight as to what we need to do to improve our system,” said Kane.

The New Britain Democratic Town Committee will be holding their endorsement meeting 7 p.m. Thursday at City Hall.

This article originally appeared in the New Britain Herald on July 17, 2019.